ELA and Phonics: Early Elementary

0 Shares

$250.00

This ELA course is designed for young and beginning readers to help establish a solid foundation in phonics and understanding of language before creating our own written works!

Description

Meets for 30 minutes twice per week for 17 weeks.

This is an entry-level ELA class designed for non-readers or early readers. We will study the way words are formed and ensure a solid phonics foundation before learning to read stories created by others. Then, we will create our own stories (verbal storytelling), and illustrate them. Finally, we will write our own stories!

This course includes access to a workbook. There will be printable pages required for each class. These are available in Canvas.

Anticipated Course Outline

Spelling words are administered as shown. Short stories are given weekly to practice reading and recognition.

  1. Short a
  2. Short I
  3. Spelling test for all words so far. Sentence writing included.
  4. R blends
  5. Final Blends: nd, st, nt, nk
  6. Short o
  7. Short e
  8. Digraphs: sh, th
  9. Spelling test for all words so far. Sentence writing included.
  10. Blends and CVCC words
  11. Long o
  12. Long u
  13. Long a
  14. Long e
  15. Long e; -es
  16. Spelling test for all words so far. Sentence writing included.
  17. Long o
  18. Long i
  19. R-controlled vowel; ar
  20. R-controlled vowel; or
  21. R-controlled vowels; er, ir, ur
  22. Spelling test for all words so far. Sentence writing included.
  23. Dipthongs: ou, ow
  24. Variant vowel: oo
  25. Variant vowel: oo
  26. Variant vowels: au, aw
  27. Spelling test for all words so far. Sentence writing included.
  28. Dipthongs: oi, oy
  29. Long o
  30. Unit 1-2 Review
  31. Unit 3-4 Review
  32. Unit 5-6 Review
  33. Spelling test for all words so far. Sentence writing included.
  34. Final Review

Schedule

Mon Jan 14, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Jan 17, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Jan 21, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Jan 24, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Jan 28, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Jan 31, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Feb 4, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Feb 7, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Feb 11, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Feb 14, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Feb 18, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Feb 21, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Mar 4, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Mar 7, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Mar 11, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Mar 14, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Mar 18, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Mar 21, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Mar 25, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Mar 28, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Apr 8, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Apr 11, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Apr 15, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Apr 18, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Apr 22, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu Apr 25, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon Apr 29, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu May 2, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon May 6, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu May 9, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon May 13, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu May 16, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Mon May 20, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern
Thu May 23, 1pm – 1:30pm Eastern

0 Shares