ELA & Literature Full Curriculum: Middle School & Early Highschool

0 Shares

$375.00

Description

If you’re looking for an all-inclusive, comprehensive English/Language Arts curriculum for your child, this is it! Literature, writing portfolio, SAT prep, parts of speech, figurative language, poetry, and SO much more is included in this fantastic class! Can be a Flex class!
Meets for 45-55 minutes per meeting, twice per week for 20 weeks

This is a comprehensive course for grades 6/7-10. Older/younger learners may benefit as well; if you’re unsure, please email me. Learners will have printables each day, given in a weekly packet format to complete as time allows and turned in before the following week begins. Homework is assigned on an as-needed basis. Novel reading will be done outside of class, but we will have discussions each week to ensure comprehension for all learners. Learners will track their reading process on Biblionasium, which will not have an additional cost for you. Audiobooks and a scribing service are allowed in this course. Accommodations will be made for learners with special needs. Learners will complete a book quilt, illustrating the novels we read each month, to share with their classmates. At the end of the course, learners will have the opportunity to share the completed quilt with their classmates. During class, we will cover the daily tasks as outlined below. Outside of live meetings, learners are to complete the work as assigned. A full syllabus will be provided prior to classes beginning.

Each week, we will meet twice. Regardless which days we are scheduled to meet live, the same schedule for work and assignments will apply. The anticipated weekly outline will be as follows:

-Monday: Introduction to spelling and comprehension words; quote and author of the week discussion.
-Tuesday: Figurative Language; novel discussion
-Wednesday: Writer’s Workshop (this is where we will work through our writing pieces-if you have questions about how this portion will work, please review my Portfolio course here as the writing portion of this course will run similarly); Part of Speech practice (each of the first four months will focus on 1-2 parts of speech)
-Thursday: SAT Reading Comprehension practice
-Friday: Current events presentation; spelling/comprehension quiz; homework catch-up and help as needed.

Anticipated course outline:

 

Month 1: 
-Novel 1: Lilies of the Field by William Barrett; Novel 2: That Was Then, This is Now by S.E. Hinton
-Part of Speech: noun, pronoun
-Figurative Language: simile, metaphor, alliteration and assonance
-Writing pieces: (Introduction to the writing process); narrative/autobiography, expository
-Book quilt pieces 1 and 2

Month 2: 
-Novel 1: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie; Novel 2: Pigman by Frank Zindel
-Part of Speech: adjectives, verbs
-Figurative Language: personification, onomatopoeia
-Writing pieces: Research Reports, Persuasive
-Book quilt pieces 3 and 4

Month 3: 
-Novel 1: Shane by Louis L’Amour; Animal Farm by George Orwell
-Part of Speech: adverbs/ helping verbs/linking verbs
-Figurative Language: idioms, hyperbole
-Writing pieces: Creative, Technical Documents (Engineering)
-Book quilt pieces 5 and 6

Month 4:
-Novel 1: Night by Elie Wiesel; Novel 2: Diary of Anne Frank
-Part of Speech: Review
-Figurative Language: Review
-Writing pieces: Responses to Literature (Research paper on a feature of the Holocaust), Speech Writing
-Book quilt pieces 7 and 8

Month 5:
-Novel 1: The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare; Novel 2: The Crucible by Arthur Miller
-Poetry 101: Learners will receive my Poetry 101 course included in this course at no extra cost!
-Freedom Writers
-Writing pieces: Finishing portfolio
-Book quilt pieces 9 and 10

If you’d like to take this as a flex class (no live meetings), this is permitted.

Because this course requires attendance and attention, it is incumbent upon you to ensure your child attends each class, turns in all of their work on time, and completes the writing portion as outlined. I will assist in this, but a portion of this course does take place outside of class time. Guidelines and instruction are given for any work completed outside of live meetings.

In short: learners must do the work to complete the this class successfully. I cannot guarantee a completed portfolio, because the work depends on the learner. I will do my very best, but learners who do not attend classes and complete work as assigned are much less likely to be successful than those who do.

I’ve been teaching language arts, writing, novel studies, and all things English for a few years. During this time, I’ve successfully worked with hundreds of learners who “hate” writing, “hate” reading, and “hate English class”. Somehow, they almost always walk away after the course with the opposite feelings toward English classes! I really enjoy all aspects of this class and the journey we take together. Please join me as I bring ELA, writing, and more to life in this class!

Course materials:

.PDF copies will be provided of all novels when legally possible. Learners may purchase copies of books or borrow them from the library for free.

Learners will also need:
A binder-2″ is ideal
Notebook paper
Notebook Dividers
Pencil/ Enclosed Pencil Sharpener
Pens (Blue/Black Ink)
Highlighters


Session dates and times:

Tue Aug 28, 2018 – Mar 13, 2019 at 4pm Eastern

Full Course Schedule:

Tue Aug 28, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Aug 29, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Sep 4, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Sep 5, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Sep 12, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Sep 18, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Sep 19, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Sep 25, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Sep 26, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Oct 2, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Oct 3, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Oct 16, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Oct 17, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Oct 23, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Oct 24, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Oct 30, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Nov 6, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Nov 7, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Nov 13, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Nov 14, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Nov 27, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Nov 28, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Dec 4, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Dec 5, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Dec 11, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Dec 12, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Dec 18, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Dec 19, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Jan 8, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Jan 9, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Jan 15, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Jan 16, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Jan 22, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Jan 23, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Tue Feb 5, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Feb 6, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Feb 13, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Feb 20, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Mar 6, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern
Wed Mar 13, 2019, 4pm – 4:40pm Eastern

0 Shares