World History and Geography [Grades 5-9]

0 Shares

$375.00

If you’re looking for an interesting, in-depth, and age-appropriate approach to ancient civilizations & geography, this is the class for you! This course digs deep, and asks students to explore the Socratic method on a daily basis. Our projects are unique, fun, and a great way to engage even the most apprehensive students!

Description

Meets for 45 minutes twice per week for 20 weeks. Course may be extended if needed. 

In this course, we will study the emergence of the major civilizations of the ancient world, beginning with the Paleolithic Era (about 2.5 million years ago) and finishing with the end of the Middle Ages in fifteenth century A.D. We will pay special attention to how societies evolved across this expanse of time—from fragmented and primitive agricultural communities to more advanced and consolidated civilizations. To do this, we will rely upon research to provide historical overviews of particular civilizations and then utilize primary-source documents to illuminate the unique features of these individual societies. By the end of the course, students will possess a thorough understanding of important overarching social, political, religious, and economic themes in the ancient world, ranging from the emergence of Confucian philosophy in Asia to the fall of imperial Rome. You will also understand how many aspects of these ancient civilizations continue to remain relevant in today’s world.

This course relies on students completing projects outside of class time, like research projects, posters, slideshows and videos, etc. Unit assessments will be administered at the end of each unit study, with an additional exam at the end of Unit 4 which encompasses our Geography section. Please see the Parent Information tab for more information.

Anticipated Course Outline

Unit 1: Foundations of Geography

  1. Class Introduction
  2. Map Skills & Physical Geography
  3. 5 Themes of Geography
  4. Saving and Investing

Unit 2: Canada

  1. Physical and Geographical Resources
  2. Cultural Influences

Unit 3: Mexico, Central America, Caribbean

  1. Physical Features & Ancient Civilizations and Conquests
  2. Mexico Today: Economy and Government
  3. Central American and the Caribbean

Unit 4: South America

  1. Regions and Physical Geography
  2. Colonial Exploration and Conflict
  3. South America Government

Unit 5: Ancient Civilizations-Mesopotamia

  1. Sumer, Sumerian life, city-states, ziggurats
  2. Cuneiform, Hammurabi’s Code, the Epic of Gilgamesh
  3. Fertile crescent, theocracy, nomadic life

Unit 6: Ancient Civilizations-Egypt

  1. Mummification, Egyptian Society and Hierarchy, Pharaohs, the invasion of the Hyksos
  2. The Old, Middle, & New Kingdom, Nile River, Hieroglyphics, Hieratic Script (shortened version), Pyramids of Giza
  3. Bureaucracy, Vizier, War-Chariots, Important Figures
  4. Lower Egypt, Upper Egypt, Red Lands, Black Lands

Unit 6: Ancient Civilizations-Israel

  1. Monotheism, the ten lost tribes, Israelites, nomads, prophets,
  2. Hebrews, Judaism, the First Temple, The Torah, Moses, Yahweh,
  3. King Solomon, wisdom, King David, Abraham, The Promised Land

Unit 7:  Ancient Civilizations-India

  1. Harappan Period, Indus Valley Civilization, Hinduism, Rajas, Aryans,
  2. Sanskirt, Aryans, the Caste System, Varnas, Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaisyas, Sudras,
  3. The Untouchables, Ganesha, Other Gods & Goddesses, Reincarnation, Monsoon
  4. Karma, Dharma, Buddhism, Hinduism, Nirvana, The Pillar, The Stupa, The Rock Chamber Siddhartha Gautama

Unit 8:  Ancient Civilizations-China

  1. Dynasties, aristocracy, oracle bones, bureaucracy, bronze casting, bronze age, golden age
  2. Philosophers, Mandate of Heaven, taotie mask, emperors, Terracotta Army
  3. Confucianism, Daoism, Legalism, warlords, Analects, The Great Wall
  4. Huang River Valley, Xia Dynasty, Shang Dynasty, Zhou Dynasty, Qin Dynasty
  5. Qin Shi Huang, Confucius, Laozi, The Great Wall, The Silk Road

Unit 8:  Ancient Civilizations-Greece

  1. Minoan & Mycenaean Civilizations, The Dark Ages, Homer, Epic Poetry, The Iliad, The Odyssey,
  2. Greek Mythology & Religion, Olympics, Olympia,
  3. Theatre, Tragedies, Comedies, Polis (City-States),
  4. Athenians, Spartans, The Peloponnesian War,
  5. Socratic Method, Greek Philosophers, Democracy, Oligarchy, Geography of Greece

Unit 9: Ancient Civilizations-Rome

  1. Etruscan and Greek Influence of Rome, The Roman Republic, Roman Social Hierarchy,
  2. Twelve Tables, Law of Nations, Triumvirates, Dictators & Julius Caesar, The Punic Wars (First, Second, Third),
  3. Roman Law (and its influence on law today), The Collapse of Roman Republic, The Roman Empire, Roman Architecture & Other Contributions,
  4. Gladiators & Entertainment, The Spread of Christianity, The Decline & Fall of Rome (and all the theories why it collapsed)

Schedule

Thu Jan 10, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Jan 11, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Jan 17, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Jan 18, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Jan 24, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Jan 25, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Jan 31, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Feb 1, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Feb 7, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Feb 8, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Feb 14, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Feb 15, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Feb 21, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Feb 22, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Mar 7, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Mar 8, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Mar 14, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Mar 15, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Mar 21, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Mar 22, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Mar 28, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Mar 29, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Apr 4, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Apr 5, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Apr 11, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Apr 12, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Apr 18, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Apr 19, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu Apr 25, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri Apr 26, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu May 2, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri May 3, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu May 9, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri May 10, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu May 16, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri May 17, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu May 23, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri May 24, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Thu May 30, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern
Fri May 31, 2019, 1:45pm – 2:30pm Eastern

Parent Information

This class is fully secular. We do discuss religion as it pertains to history only. Personal views and beliefs are not expressed. Please contact me with questions about this.

If parents choose that their children do not need to take exams, please let me know upon enrollment.

0 Shares