History, Geography, and Social Studies: Early Elementary

0 Shares

$175.00

Even the youngest kids need to learn history, geography, and social studies, and thiat’s exactly what we’ll do in this hands-on course!

Description

Meets for 45 minutes once per week for 16 weeks.

This is an introductory course to geography and social studies for students in grades k-3. We will also study history, and form connections between our homes, families, neighborhoods and the world. Students will be completing hands-on activities in and out of class. Homework will be very minimal. Reading is not required for this course, but may be helpful.

Anticipated Course Outline

  1. Using a Map; Using a Globe
    2. Family, Celebrations, and Neighborhoods; Me on the Map
    3. What’s the address?; Rules and Problem Solving
    4. Transportation; Reading a Chart
    5. Looking at Change; World Maps and Africa
    6. Communities and new words; Using Pictures and maps
    7. U.S. Maps; Sorting
    8. Our Continent; Land and Water; Map Key
    9. Climate and Weather; What’s the Weather?
    10. Natural Resources; World Maps and Switzerland
    11. Groups and New Words; Directions
    12. Safety and Leaders; Symbols; Calendars;
    13. A good Citizen; World Maps and Japan; Needs and Wants and new Words
    14. Work, Jobs, and Careers; Buying Goods
    15. Tools and Ordering; World Maps and Brazil
    16. Review

Schedule

Wed Jan 16, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Jan 23, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Jan 30, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Feb 6, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Feb 13, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Feb 20, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Mar 6, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Mar 13, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Mar 20, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Mar 27, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Apr 10, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Apr 17, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed Apr 24, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed May 1, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed May 15, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern
Wed May 22, 3:30pm – 4:15pm Eastern

 

0 Shares