Hogwarts for Muggles: Professor Hagrid’s Care of Magical Creatures

2 Shares

$175.00

Zoology: the study of animals. Magizoology: the study of magical creatures. This course will combine real-world creatures & magical ones to provide fundamental practices & knowledge for the field of Zoology. Come study 111 of the Harry Potter Wizard world’s creatures!

 

Description

2 Shares

Meets for 40 minutes twice per week for 13 weeks.

Classification and taxonomy are a very important component to the field and this subject will be the foundation of the course. The class will give learners a general survey of the animal kingdom from single cell life forms to complex organisms.

Course Goals:
-Understand the 6 Kingdom and 3 Domain systems of classifications
-Be able to classify various organisms and separate, sort, and differentiate them into various phyla groups.
-Be able to distinguish how different organisms are put together and how their internal systems function in those organisms
-Verify how various kinds of organisms interact with their chemical, physical, and biological environments.
-Develop and refine abilities to make accurate and precise observations and measurements of organisms.
-Convey scientific findings in detailed notes that include quality, accurate, and well-labeled illustrations.
-Be able to defend and recommend the need for biological diversity in individual ecosystems and on planet Earth as a whole.

For each of the creatures, we will study the Ministry of Magic (M.O.M.) Classification, sort into phyla groups, describe its natural habitat, discuss its habits, temperament, and relationship to humans, list its magical properties, explain the care and feeding of the creature, and see if we can find a non-magical Muggle world version of the creature.

2 Shares

Anticipated Course Outline

2 Shares

Class 1: Introduction to Zoology and Magical Creatures
Class 2: Muggle animals and Classification
Class 3: Acromantula, Ashwinder, Augurey, Bandicoot
Class 4: Basilisk, Bat, Bicorn, Billywig, Blast-Ended Skrewt
Class 5: Bowtruckle, Bundimun, Centaur, Chicken
Class 6: Chimaeram, Chizpurfle, Clabbert, Cockatrice
Class 7: Crup, Demiguise, Diricawl, Dog
Class 8: Doxy, Dragon, Dugbog, Erkling
Class 9: Erumpent, Fairy, Fire crab, Flesh-Eating Slug, Flitterby
Class 10: Flobberworm, Flying Seahorses, Fwooper, Ghoul
Class 11: Giant Dung Beetle, Giant Squid, Glumbumble, Gnome
Class 12: Golden Snidget, Graphorn, Griffin, Grindylow
Class 13: Hidebehind, Hippocampus, Hippogriff, Hoo-hoo
Class 14: Horklump, Horned Serpent, Imp, Jarvey
Class 15: Jobberknoll, Kappa, Kelpie, Knarl
Class 16: Kneazle, Leprechaun, Lethifold, Lobalug
Class 17: Mackled Malaclaw, Manticore, Merpeople, Moke
Class 18: Mooncalf, Murtlap, Niffler, Nogtail
Class 19: Nundu, Occamy, Owl, Phoenix, Pixie
Class 20: Plimpy, Pogrebin, Porlock, Puffskein
Class 21: Quintaped, Ramora, Rat, Red Cap
Class 22: Re’em, Runespoor, Salamander, Sasquatch, Sea serpent
Class 23: Selma, Shrake, Snake, Sphinx, Streeler
Class 24: Swooping Evil, Tebo, Three-Headed Dog, Toad
Class 25: Troll, Thunderbird, Unicorn, Wampus
Class 26: Werewolf, Winged horse

2 Shares

Schedule

2 Shares

Tue Jan 15, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Jan 18, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Jan 22, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Jan 25, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Jan 29, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Feb 1, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Feb 5, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Feb 8, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Feb 12, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Feb 15, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Feb 22, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Feb 26, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Mar 8, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Mar 12, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Mar 15, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Mar 19, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Mar 22, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Mar 26, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Mar 29, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Apr 9, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Apr 12, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Apr 16, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Apr 19, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Apr 23, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Fri Apr 26, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern
Tue Apr 30, 2019, 10am – 10:40am Eastern

2 Shares
2 Shares