Project-Based Foundational Math for Lower Elementary: Active Learning Course

0 Shares

$275.00

Description

Meets for 30 minutes twice per week for 21 weeks.

If you’re looking for a fun, interactive, all-inclusive math course for K-3rd grade math, this is it! The activities in this class get your children thinking and behaving like REAL mathematicians and engineers. If you’re looking to build strong math literacy, fluency, problem-solving skills and metacognition in your children, this is a great foundational class. I don’t provide lectures, but I do introduce Socratic-style discussion in order to help kids learn HOW to think, not WHAT to think. Projects are assigned and discussed to ensure learners fully comprehend each topic I’ll provide printables, videos, projects, and everything needed to have a successful year of math; you’ll provide a few extra elements for in-person activities. These items depend on what your learner chooses. Most projects will be worked on in class, time permitting, but some may be done outside of class. These projects are things like creating a chart to show favorite ice cream flavours in the learner’s family, a poster showing a learner’s routine using clocks, etc. Learners are expected to do the majority of this work: parents are not to step in and “finish” or “perfect” the work. I do not care about perfection; I’m looking for specific benchmarks in relation to what we’re studying, and none of these are to be met by the parents. If you have further questions, please email me at heartfelthomeschool@gmail.com

In class, I’ll use slides and handouts in addition to oral presentation to introduce concepts and information to learners. We will record information as we go along, and some will be recorded on printables. I’ll have virtual flashcards to use to review outside of class. Virtual math labs can be completed as well. I will have printables and worksheets available for each concept. In class, expect your child to use manipulatives for each concept. Many of my learners use things like small toy cars and trucks, blocks, Tangram (pattern blocks), My Little Pony figurines, toy animals, etc. If you have specific manipulatives to use, that’s fine, otherwise whatever you already have will be great. I’ve even seen the plastic lids from baby food pouches, milk cartons, and more! I will provide printable copies of a clock and fake money to use for these classes, but if you already have these in your home, you’re welcome to use these. The goal of this course is to use what we already have to show kids how we use math on a daily basis through hands-on, project-based education!

Note about the “exams”: these are informal but can be administrated formally upon request. The basic idea is to ensure learners are able to understand what we’ve covered so far, and I can assess if extra practice is needed for any skill.

Anticipated Course Outline

Introduction to course and methods; assessment (informal, during class if possible)
1. Patterns and number sense: creating patterns
2. Patterns and number sense: solving patterns
3. Understanding Addition 1
4. Understanding Addition 2
5. Understanding Subtraction 1
6. Understanding Subtraction 2
7. Data and graphs-Reading
8. Data and graphs-Creating
9. Addition strategies to 12 1
10. Addition strategies to 12 2
11. Subtraction strategies to 12 1
12. Subtraction strategies to 12 2
13. Time-Make a clock; familiarity with face and hands
14. Time-Before and After
15. Time-to the hour and half hour; comparisons
16. Numbers to 100
17. Numbers to 100
18. Skip counting by 2’s and 5’s to 100
19. Skip counting by 10’s to 1,000
20. “Midterm”: comprehension check
21. Measurement-Nonstandard units of length
22. Measurement-Length
23. Measurement- Weight
24. Measurement- Nonstandard units of weight
25. Measurement-Volume
26. Addition and Subtraction Strategies to 20-Doubles and number sentences
27. Addition and Subtraction Strategies to 20-Fact families and naming
28. Money-Identification
29. Money-Counting
30. Money-Adding/Subtracting
31. Money-Real-life practice
32. Geometry-Shapes, faces, and corners
33. Geometry-Reasoning, positions, coordinates
34. Place Value-Tens and ones
35. Place Value-Numbers to 50
36. Place Value-Estimation
37. Place Value-Comparing and ordering numbers
38. Two-Digit addition and subtraction-Adding
39. Two-Digit addition and subtraction-Estimation
40. Two-Digit addition and subtraction-Subtraction
41. Two-Digit addition and subtraction-Estimation
42. “Final Exam”-comprehension check

Parent Information

Students should be able to count to 20 and understand basic number sequence. Projects are assigned and discussed to ensure learners fully comprehend each topic I’ll provide printables, videos, projects, and everything needed to have a successful year of math; you’ll provide a few extra elements for in-person activities. These items depend on what your learner chooses. Costs will be kept minimal (typically $20 or less).

Schedule

Wed Sep 12, 2018 – Mar 20, 2019 at 3:30pm Eastern

Wed Sep 12, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Sep 14, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Sep 19, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Sep 21, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Sep 26, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Sep 28, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Oct 3, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Oct 5, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Oct 10, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Oct 12, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Oct 17, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Oct 19, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Nov 2, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Nov 7, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Nov 9, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Nov 14, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Nov 16, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Nov 28, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Nov 30, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Dec 5, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Dec 7, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Dec 12, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Dec 14, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Dec 19, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Jan 9, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Jan 11, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Jan 16, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Jan 18, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Jan 23, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Feb 1, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Feb 6, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Feb 8, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Feb 13, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Feb 15, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Feb 20, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Feb 22, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Mar 1, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Mar 6, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Mar 8, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Mar 13, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Fri Mar 15, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern
Wed Mar 20, 2019, 3:30pm – 4pm Eastern

0 Shares