Project-Based Foundational Math for Upper Elementary: Active Learning Course Semester I

0 Shares

$395.00

When students fully participate in education, they learn more! In this course, I provide guidelines for engineering projects with each unit. My students DO math, not just SEE math done; real-world application is necessary! How would you build a better playground, or pool?!

Description

Meets for 45 minutes per meeting, twice per week, for 20 weeks. 

If you’re looking for a fun, interactive, all-inclusive math course for grades 4-9 math, this is it! The activities in this class get your children thinking and behaving like REAL mathematicians and engineers. If you’re looking to build strong math literacy, fluency, problem-solving skills and metacognition in your children, this is a great foundational class. I don’t provide lectures, but I do introduce Socratic-style discussion in order to help kids learn HOW to think, not WHAT to think. Projects are assigned and discussed to ensure learners fully comprehend each topic I’ll provide printables, videos, projects, and everything needed to have a successful year of math; you’ll provide a few extra elements for in-person activities. These items depend on what your learner chooses. Most projects will be worked on in class, time permitting, but some may be done outside of class.

In class, I’ll use slides and handouts in addition to oral presentation to introduce concepts and information to learners. We will record some as we go along, and some will be recorded on printables. I’ll have virtual flashcards to use to review outside of class. Virtual math labs can be completed as well. While we do have 40 classes, the first is an introduction class to the entire course. I will have printables and worksheets available for each concept.

 

Anticipated Course Outline

Introduction Class: Introduction to the course, Canvas, methods, syllabus, etc.
Class 1: Place value of whole numbers
Class 2: Place value of decimals
Class 3: Add and subtract whole numbers
Class 4: Add and subtract decimals
Class 5: Algebra: use addition
Class 6: Algebra: use multiplication
Class 7: Analyze data and graphs
Class 8: Creating graphs
Class 9: PROJECT 1 WORK
Class 10: PROJECT 1 PRESENTATION
Class 11: Multiplying whole numbers and decimals
Class 12: Divide by 1-Digit Divisors
Class 13: Divide by 2-Digit Divisors
Class 14: Divide Decimals by Whole Numbers
Class 15: Divide Decimals by Decimals
Class 16: PROJECT 2 WORK
Class 17: PROJECT 2 PRESENTATION
Class 18: Number Theory and Fraction Concepts
Class 19: Ratio and Percent
Class 20: Add and Subtract Fractions and Mixed Numbers
Class 21: Multiply Fractions
Class 22: Divide Fractions
Class 23: PROJECT 3 WORK
Class 24: PROJECT 3 PRESENTATION
Class 25: Algebra: Integers
Class 26: Solving for x
Class 27: Geometry and the Coordinate Plane
Class 28: Plane Figures
Class 29: Classify Plane and Solid Figures
Class 30: Customary and Metric Systems
Class 31: Perimeter and Area
Class 32: Perimeter and Area
Class 33: Surface Area and Volume
Class 34: PROJECT 4 WORK
Class 35: PROJECT 4 PRESENTATION
Class 36: Probability and Statistics
Class 37: GROUP PROJECT WORK
Class 38: GROUP PROJECT WORK
Class 39: GROUP PROJECT PRESENTATION

Schedule

Mon Sep 10, 2018 – Apr 1, 2019 at 2:30pm Eastern

Mon Sep 10, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Sep 17, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Sep 18, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Sep 25, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Oct 2, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Oct 9, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Oct 16, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Oct 23, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Oct 30, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Nov 6, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Nov 12, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Nov 13, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Nov 26, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Nov 27, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Dec 3, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Dec 4, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Dec 10, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Dec 11, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Dec 17, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Dec 18, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Jan 8, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Jan 14, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Jan 15, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Jan 21, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Jan 22, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Jan 28, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Jan 29, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Feb 4, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Feb 5, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Feb 11, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Feb 12, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Feb 18, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Feb 19, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Feb 25, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Tue Feb 26, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Mar 4, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Mar 11, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Mar 18, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Mar 25, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern
Mon Apr 1, 2019, 2:30pm – 3:15pm Eastern

0 Shares